CMMS - Computerized Maintenance Management Software

For Stratospheric Observatory For Infrared Astronomy - SOFIA

Weltweit Größtes Infrarot Teleskop
Fliegende Sternwarte SOFIAAudit proof Document Management with Document Release Procedure
InstandhaltungssoftwareProcurement Module with automated Order Recommendations for Maintenance TasksLagerverwaltung Bestellwesen Und ProjektverwaltungNavigation through the Telecope Structure (Assembly) via Hotspots

Worlds' largest Infrared Telescope
Nearly 3 meters in diameter and a weight of 20 tons. That's the Telescope installed inside a Boeing 747. It is used by the American Space Agency NASA corporately with their German colleagues from the German Center for Aviation and Aeronautics (Deutsches Zentrum für Luftund Raumfahrt (DLR)) among others to observe the formation of young stellar- and planetary systems; the project is also called "Flying Observatory". The infrared light of those objects, what the scientists are most after, can on ground only be received in a narrowed way, because particularly the water vapor in the earth?s atmosphere is impassable for this kind of radiation. At a height of about 13 kilometers the factor of the earth?s atmosphere is negligible and the way is clear for observing the infrared radiation of astronomical objects.
 
Flying Observatory "SOFIA"Die Dokumentations  Und Instandhaltungssoftware
The completion and handling of the flying observatory "Sofia" (Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared-Astronomy) is coordinated by the German side of the DSI, the German SOFIA Institute located at the University of Stuttgart. The DSI-Team is made up of engineers, scientists, logisticians and technicians taking care of the readiness for operations, the maintenance and the further development of the Telescope.
 
CMMS Software
The Documentation- and Maintenance software for the Telescope made of over 11,000 parts was developed by the German company ERPwerk in Oldenburg. The Software gives information on the Airworthiness of the Telescope and takes care of having all necessary spare parts for actual and upcoming maintenance tasks ready. Furthermore it manages documents like manuals, engineering drawings, maintenance procedures, material certificates, a.s.o for all parts and provides them to the users via an easy to handle search. The engineers are for example able to navigate visually through the Telescope via so called Hotspots (markers on the engineering drawings) and find the parts by a Mouse click. All the Data is stored and managed on a central Server located in the Internet. The Access to the Server is encrypted.
 
Warehouse Management, Procurement and Project Management
Beside the Maintenance and Documentation the Software also implements other Tasks for the corporate Project of NASA and DLR: Warehouse Management, Procurement, User rights Management and Project Management. The Software will implement a web-based Interface to the NASASystem, so the NASA Engineers are informed about actual Maintenance Tasks of the Telescope at regular intervals. Over this Interface project relevant data can be exchanged. One of the biggest challenges was the comfortable handling of large amounts of data over the Internet, so the whole Project-Team can globally work with the software, regardless of the location. Standard modules, thus pre-assembled blocks of Software, which are adapted to the needs of the project are used. In doing so costs are saved, development times are reduced and last but not least the complexity Navigation through the Telecope Structure (Assembly) via Hotspots is significantly lower.

 

BildfooterThe characteristical constellation of Orion in two exposures: as photography at the human visible field of light (left) and as Infrared-Exposure (right)

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok Decline

Weltweit größtes Infrarot Teleskop
Fast drei Meter groß und 20 Tonnen schwer ist das Teleskop, das sich an Bord einer Boeing 747 befindet. Damit will die USRaumfahrtbehörde NASA gemeinsam mit ihren Kollegen vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) unter anderem die Entstehung junger Sternen- und Planetensysteme beobachten; das Projekt wird auch als fliegende Sternwarte bezeichnet. Das infrarote Licht dieser Objekte, für das sich die Wissenschaftler besonders interessieren, ist vom Boden aus nur eingeschränkt zu empfangen, da insbesondere der Wasserdampf in der Erdatmosphäre für diese Strahlung unpassierbar ist. In einer Flughöhe von etwa 13 Kilometern ist der Einfluss der Erdatmosphäre vernachlässigbar und somit der Weg frei für die Beobachtung der infraroten Strahlung astronomischer Objekte.
Fliegende Sternwarte "SOFIA"
Koordiniert wird die Fertigstellung und der Betrieb der fliegenden Sternwarte "Sofia" (Stratosphären Observatorium für Infrarot- Astronomie) für die Deutsche Seite vom DSI, dem Deutschen SOFIA Institut, das sich an der Universität Stuttgart befindet. Das DSI-Team bestehend aus Ingenieuren, Wissenschaftlern, Logistikern und Technikern sorgt für die Einsatzbereitschaft, die Instandhaltung und die Weiterentwicklung des Teleskopes.
Instandhaltungssoftware
Die Dokumentations- und Instandhaltungssoftware für das aus über 11.000 Einzelteilen bestehende Teleskop wurde von der Oldenburger Firma ERPwerk entwickelt. Sie liefert Informationen über die Flugtauglichkeit des Teleskopes und sorgt dafür, dass die, für laufende und zukünftige Wartungsarbeiten benötigte Ersatzteile rechtzeitig vorhanden sind. Außerdem verwaltet Sie alle zu den Einzelteilen vorliegenden Dokumente wie Handbücher, technischen Zeichnungen, Wartungsprozeduren, Material- Zertifikate u.s.w. und stellt diese über eine komfortable Suchfunktion den Benutzern zur Verfügung. Die Ingenieure können z.B. über sog. Hotspots (Markierungen auf den technischen Zeichnungen) visuell durch das Teleskop navigieren und die gesuchten Bauteile einfach per Mausklick finden. Die Daten werden auf einem zentralen Server im Internet verwaltet. Der Zugriff darauf geschieht verschlüsselt.
Lagerverwaltung, Bestellwesen und Projektverwaltung
Neben der Instandhaltung und Dokumentation erfüllt die Software auch noch weitere Aufgaben für das gemeinsame Projekt von NASA und DLR: Lagerverwaltung, Bestellwesen, Rechtemanagement und Projektverwaltung. Damit die NASA Ingenieure regelmäßig über die laufenden Instandhaltungsarbeiten am Teleskop informiert sind wird die Software über eine Web-basierte Schnittstelle zum NASA-System verfügen. Darüber können dann alle projektrelevanten Daten ausgetauscht werden. Eine der größten Herausforderungen an die Software war die komfortable Bearbeitung auch großer Datenmengen über das Internet, damit das Projekt-Team weltweit, standortunabhängig mit der Software arbeiten kann. Dabei werden Standardmodule, also vorgefertigte Softwarebausteine benutzt, die den Projektanforderungen entsprechend angepasst worden sind. Dadurch werden Kosten gespart und Entwicklungszeiten verkürzt und nicht zuletzt die Komplexität deutlich Navigation durch die Teleskop Struktur (Assembly) über Hotspots reduziert.
Das Charakteristische Sternbild des Orion in zwei Darstellungen: als Fotografie im für Menschen sichtbaren Bereich des Lichtes (links) und als Infrarot-Aufnahme (rechts)
Revisionssicheres Dokumentationsmanagment mit Dokumentenfreigabe
Bestellmodul mit automatischen Bestellvorschlägen zur Erfüllung der Wartungsaufgaben
Navigation durch die Teleskop Struktur (Assembly) über Hotspot